[Broadway Bomb 2013] – Friday

Last year’s bomb coverage, in case you missed it.

Better late than never, I suppose; and this will be one helluva long story, so here we go:

-Friday, October 9th 2013 – Longboard Loft. ~5PM-

Things kicked off in the afternoon at the Loft with an all-day chill, skate, and contest sessions. I rolled in around 5 to pre-game for the pre-party at *Uncle Funky’s later in the evening. Things were beginning to slowly wind down given that nightly events were all 21+ and youngins were beginning to turn in slowly. I grazed the very end of the hippie jump and the last bits of daylight.

I promptly hopped across the street to hang by the Loft itself and meet some new faces. Stoke for the race was definitely in the air, as was the wait for the official pre-party. I happened to park up next to the lot in the right side of the picture above and conversation leaned towards my Freebomb setup. As I was getting to the middle of my Surf-Rodz story, that came off as poor customer service until the end, no other than Wayne himself presented me with his business card and a welcome to contact him if anything similar happened in the future. Pretty damn rad and random to just bump into the owner of a very prominent precision truck brand just like that. He recognized my board too, since I linked it to SZ’s Facebook page and was featured in one of their post. Couldn’t resist asking for a shot with my deck either-

Next up were a couple of Pork Slaps at Lucky Jack’s next door.

After that I talked to Anvil Longboards and really enjoyed their integrated, motion-activated light system to help stay more visible while skating in the dark-

The kicktail looked very unique and fresh as well, which actually drew me in initially.

Loft was poppin with a usual prize draw and after taking a few snaps, I headed onwards to Funky’s for the real party.

-Friday, October 9th 2013 – Uncle Funky’s. 7PM-

Usual suspects were posted by the entrance and mild skating was happening around. Things were definitely about to get on the way, but little did I know just how gnarly the party was going to be.

Unknown to me then, I met Roberto who would later on become a new friend and a skate partner after the race on the way to the BBQ.

It was awesome seeing another guy rock one of my home boy’s very first setup by the book- Gravity Hypercarve with Gullwing Sidewinders. Visually sluggish, yet practically nimble longer kind of setup.

I ran into Toxic Surf Jim right away and it was great catching up for a few minutes before heading in. Got a fresh vinyl sticker to add to my deck’s belly and keep reppin his brand.

I went ahead inside to find a good parking spot for my plank before things became crowded. Seeing Jeff always makes my day, and he was already busy dishing out refreshments when I got inside.

Party was well under way despite it still being pretty early for a Friday night, but it sure beat waiting on people to start showing up.

It really didn’t take long for everything to become seriously poppin, to a point where re-surfacing turned into a slow moving line, haha.

Kristen, Noel, and Billy (whom I would properly meet the next day) were hanging outside, working the door, and keeping commotion to a minimum to avoid getting the shenanigans broken up by the 5-0.

On one of my fresh air trips, I bumped into REY Trucks themselves, and their setups put a huge smile on my face-

You don’t really see Kracked Skulls decks out on the streets of the east coast all that often, nor do you really see GBomb brackets/Illuminati complete. KS M1 was my very, very first board and the sentimental value in seeing more on the streets is huge for me. GBomb brackets were a crucial part in my latest build, and they too are just as rare of a sight out in the wild. 2 birds with one stone, perfectly done, REY Trucks!

Sooner than later, the outside was probably more packed than the inside of the party-

And the night would not be complete without our keynote speakers on the race the following morning-

Now, the funniest thing of the evening was selling 2 jacks to some random business suits for a generous offer of $8.

The next day’s Samurai skater had a very rad Bomb planted on the nose of his deck, pretty creative and appropriate-

After I barely survived the onslaught of awesome beverages, I decided to wobble my way towards home via Williamsburg detour to close out some bars and call it a very, late night that I would partially regret the next morning due to my inability to get up.

Next up- Saturday, the Race.

Leave a Reply

