Sniper Zoom – Nikkor 55-200mm VR Lens

Got a pretty solid deal on one of these via craigslist- only $90 with the ability to see it for myself prior to buying it. Seller was a very cool guy, so this thing was in as good of a shape as when he got it himself.

55-200VR

Came with the back cover, Canon-style front cap I swapped for a spare Nikon-style I had, and the stock reversible lens hood.  Best part- it’s still a 52mm lens and I can share all the caps and filters between this guy and my stock 18-55. Not as good for zoom itself, but for a budget beginner its awesome.

It didn’t take me long to start snapping some test shots and they go as follows:

This was our local theater’s sign taken from ~400 feet, at night. I believe I cranked ISO to 1600 to be able to shoot at at least 1/40 shutter speed to avoid blur. VR was indispensable for these long range shots.

55-200test4

Other shots were just random local ones to test both the zoom and the overall glass quality.

55-200test5

55-200test6

55-200test1

55-200test2

And as they say, save best for last-

55-200test3

Leave a Reply

